height of the neck pickup/asat classic custom

Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:22 am

Hey,
I tried to set the height of my pickups yesterday. For the neck pickup you have to remove the pickguard first, then you have to put a block under the pickup to raise it (it's screwed directly in the wood) Once all this is done, the surprise is : you can't put that pickguard in his place because the "ears" of the MFD don't fit in the hole...
Well, I compensate for the impossibility to raise the neck pickup as a whole, with raising the poles, but it's only compensation right ?!

All I can do now, is have the pickguard cut to let the "ears" of the big MFD out.

Anyone has experienced this with is classic custom ? or that guitar is not meant to have the neck pickup raised up ?

I remember a post about that in G&LDP versions 1 but I can't find it.

thanks

Xavier

Re: height of the neck pickup/asat classic custom

Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:34 am

I'm no expert but can you not alter the output of the MFDs without altering their height? I may have dreamn't this and apologieis if I have but i seem to remember it made the need to alter the height redundant. However, as I said, I'm no expert....

Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:37 pm

Hi Xavier,

This How are pickup covers attached to soapbar MFD pickups? post may be of help. Are you missing the springs too that you need to take off the pickguard and use wood to raise the pups? The pickguards were cut differently for a while with the ears not visible as shown for the 2004 ASAT Classic Custom SH (as well as his 2005 non-SH) show on Greg Gagliano's website. You can see from the current entry on the G&L web site for the ASAT Classic Custom that is no longer the case. Is that what we're talking about? Can you post a pic?

- Jos