Tribute Fallout Troubles

Fri Sep 05, 2014 8:05 am

Hi Folks,

Awhile back people helped me pick out my first guitar (I've been playing bass for 33 years but needed a new challenge). I love the instrument, but I've been having a problem.

The bridge pickup coil tap was intermittent. By that I meant if I hit the pickup switch enough times, the humbucking would come in, but otherwise it could get "stuck" in coil tap mode. But it was intermittent. I took it to a tech who couldn't reproduce the problem because the pickup was having a "good" day".

A couple days I noticed the jack was loose, so I tightened the nut on the outside. Now the pickup appears to be stuck in a sort of dull and lifeless mode. Coil tapped but with no jangle and no life. Output is a lot lower.

Before I take it to a local tech, I'm wondering if there's anything I can look for and try to fix. I'm good enough with a soldering iron to install new speakers in cab, though I've never built my own effects pedals or anything.

Many thanks.

PS -- I can't return it. I bought it online from Musicians' Friend in the US and am now in Canada. Plus, I really like the feel of the instrument, so it seems worth messing with the electronics to get it right.

PPS -- Just got a VHT Special 6 Ultra Amp (I had been using bass amps and Guitar Rig on my computer) and the P90 sounds a-may-zing through it.

Re: Tribute Fallout Troubles

Fri Sep 05, 2014 8:42 am

it still should be under warranty , I don't think moving to Canada voids anything .... Craig will know what to do

Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:14 pm

I'd try and fix it yourself. Take it apart, hook it to an amp and start messing around with the wiring, starting with the nut you tightened. Squirt some contact cleaner into the switch and the pots too. It's most likely an easy fix. Tributes use cheap switches and pots.

My 2¢
Will

Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:56 pm