I am new at this

Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:29 pm

Hello! I found a beautiful little G&L Legacy today used, and i picked it up. I have no clue where to find out info on it besides the guitardaterproject.org which told me the guitar was made in Korea between 1988-1996. Without taking the guitar apart, how can i find out information on it? I am new to the guitar world, new to all of this. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks heaps.

Re: I am new at this

Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:45 am

Hello. I'm not an expert on the guitardaterproject, but according to their main page, G&L is not one of their supported brands. I would post a picture of your Legacy, with the serial number, and you should be able to get a lot of help here.

Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:47 am

Hopestarr wrote:guitardaterproject.org which told me the guitar was made in Korea between 1988-1996.

G&L wasn't building guitars in Korea during that time frame. It wasn't till late 90's that they started producing limited numbers in Japan for the Asain market. So, I would put any stock in guitardateproject info...

What is the serial number? That will go a long way in determining the country of origin. If it is a USA build, then searching the registry in a range of +/- 200 of sn should give you an idea of the build date.

Cheers, Dan

Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:12 am

Hopestarr wrote:Hello! I found a beautiful little G&L Legacy today used, and i picked it up. I have no clue where to find out info on it besides the guitardaterproject.org which told me the guitar was made in Korea between 1988-1996. Without taking the guitar apart, how can i find out information on it? I am new to the guitar world, new to all of this. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks heaps.

See this post in our G&L Knowledgebase: Serial number significance.

As others have said, please post photos of this guitar, including the serial number. For posting photos, see: Welcome! Read This First and look for the link to the Tutorial: Posting photos.