My Cantrell Rampage Tribute

Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:04 am

I recently purchased a brand new Tribute Rampage from my local G&L dealer. Just wanted to comment on it here. In short, it rocks. I have played, owned, sold and traded at least a dozen USA G&Ls over the last five years (both Leo-era and BBE) and never thought I would bother with a Tribute since you can score used USAs for around the same price. I have been playing the bass pretty exclusively for the last six months (a great sample of a L2000) and found myself without any six strings when the itch came back. Because of all the bass playing and because I have, for years, wanted to give up picks altogether, I decided to try a 1 3/4 neck. And this is the really the main reason I picked up the Rampage. The subtle but wider neck and wider spacing really makes a difference for my big hands. I custom ordered an ASAT a few years ago and wished I had been brave enough to order the wider neck then. I thought about it but it didn't happen. This Rampage was an affordable way to give it a shot (and still play a G&L). As far as the quality of the guitar, I can't complain. Well balanced, ebony board, rings clearly and stays in tune like a champ. I suppose some of the hardware could be better quality but I don't really care. The wider neck is what I am really excited about, I can hit some higher notes and chords that gave up trying to reach years ago. It really is a game changer for me and again, I wish I had done this sooner.

I got the ivory version. Yes, I know it doesn't exist without photos but I feel silly taking a photo of a guitar that can be found all over the internet.

Also, I needed a new amp to play it (I really downsized during my bass playing time) I just heard about and then purchased one of the Tech 21 Trademark 30 amps. If you don't like to mess around with pedals and don't have to have tubes, please try one of these amps. They really rock.