Choosing between Ascari, Fiorano, or ASAT Deluxe

Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:11 pm

Hey guys, this is my first post here, looking for some opinions :-)

In a few weeks time my local shop will be receiving a red ASAT Deluxe Tribute, a black Ascari GTS, and a black Fiorano GTS (all Tributes obviously). Whereupon I will arrive at the shop, play around on all three, and buy one.

I'm a long-time bass player and acoustic guitar player who is buying his first electric guitar. I've had a soft spot for G&Ls ever since I bought my L-2000 a few years ago.

So: What I *wanted* was the Trans-Black ASAT Deluxe Tribute, as you can see above, the only ASAT they can get me is the red one.

What can anyone tell me of their impression of the Ascari vs the ASAT Deluxe? At the moment it mainly feels like I'm making the choice between those two, although the Fiorano looks damn nice too.

I'm new to the electric guitar world so I'm trying to get a feel for what I want.

Things I know:

- I think in pictures the black looks a lot cooler than the red.
- I'm definitely after versatility, which is why the coil-tapping these guitars offer seems like a great idea.
- It'll take me a while to learn to be gentle with the light guage of guitar strings after years of bass strings and 12-string acoustics :-)

So who has an opinion on 'ASAT Deluxe vs Ascari GTS' they'd like to share with me?

Re: Choosing between Ascari, Fiorano, or ASAT Deluxe

Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:51 am

souldrift wrote:....Whereupon I will arrive at the shop, play around on all three, and buy one.

I'm sorry I can't offer you a comparison, as I've only played an ASAT Deluxe (USA), but I really love that guitar. It is pretty versatile. I think your quote above is your answer; play all three. One may jump out at you most. How your first guitar feels is more important than how it looks. :D

Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:56 pm