Tribute Comanche - all heavy weights?

Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:14 pm

I've been thinking about getting one to mess with but I've sent questions around to stores that had them in stock and all of them, whether ash or mahogany, were in the very high 8s up to 10lb range, mostly between 9.5 & 10. That's pretty hefty. Does that seem to be the norm? I think I've got that reply on about 10 so far. Any owners confirm that?

I'm also curious to hear about tonal differences from those who have played the mahogany ones and the ash ones side by side. My old USA was Ash so I'm familiar with that & the Z coil as a combo, not sure the mahogany (really some asian tree) would make much difference or not.

Re: Tribute Comanche - all heavy weights?

Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:16 pm

I have limited experience and have read of some experiences with weight. It is a crap shoot really. A semi-hollow can weigh more than a solid. I have an ASAT Classic that weighs about 8.5lbs. My Legacy is much lighter and my ASAT Special feels like balsa wood compared to the others. The ASAT's are ash and the Legacy is alder. If you want exact numbers I don't mind placing them on the bathroom scale. Let me know.

Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:29 pm

don't have any Tributes , but my USA Comanche is my lightest strat in the fleet

Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:41 pm

Ray Barbee Music wrote:I've been thinking about getting one to mess with but I've sent questions around to stores that had them in stock and all of them, whether ash or mahogany, were in the very high 8s up to 10lb range, mostly between 9.5 & 10. That's pretty hefty. Does that seem to be the norm? I think I've got that reply on about 10 so far. Any owners confirm that?

I'm also curious to hear about tonal differences from those who have played the mahogany ones and the ash ones side by side. My old USA was Ash so I'm familiar with that & the Z coil as a combo, not sure the mahogany (really some asian tree) would make much difference or not.