Ordering my first G&L. Have a few questions...

Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:36 am

Hello all. This is my first post here and I'm hoping to find a little help. I've been playing off and on for about 30 years (I'm 40). I have almost always had Les Paul style guitars except for a brief period with an American Strat about 10 years ago. I recently decided to buy myself a Strat as kind of a 40th b-day gift. Money isn't an issue so I've been playing everything I can including a few of the signature model Fenders. My problem has been that nothing was really jumping out at me until I wandered into an old music store in my city and tried a G&L Legacy. I'd never heard much about G&L and never considered buying one. The Legacy was just beautiful for me. Tone, playability, and especially quality were just far better than all of the Fenders I've tried. Sorry for the long intro, now my questions:

I'm going to order a Legacy. I was told it could take a couple of months to receive it. Is that typical when ordering one of these?

Also, I loved everything about it except for the gloss neck. I have had a couple glossed in the past and always hit them with 0000 steel wool, but I'd rather order a satin finish if possible. Is this an option when ordering one? If not, what is the difference between Clear Gloss and Gun Oil Gloss?

I've always bought guitars that I've been able to play first before I buy it so I'm a little concerned with buying it this way. While I really liked the one I tried, I'd prefer different colors than the sunburst and white pickguard. Are the G&L's consistent with their quality or is it possible that I just tried a very nice one. They only have one American made in stock. .

Any other advice or suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks a lot,
Al

Re: Ordering my first G&L. Have a few questions...

Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:57 am

Al, when I special ordered by S500, it took a couple of months, so that sounds right. You should be able to specify neck finish.